Outstanding Maryland Businesses Honored at 2017 Incubator Company of the Year Awards

emocha Mobile Health; Fearless Solutions; FZata, Inc.; Leverege; Pixelligent;  Point3 Security; Proscia and VitusVet recognized

BALTIMORE, MD. (June 16, 2017) – The Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO), Saul Ewing LLP, M&T Bank, Maryland Department of Commerce, RSM US LLP and the Maryland Business Incubation Association (MBIA) announced the winners of the 2017 Maryland Incubator Company of the Year Awards on Thursday evening at the American Visionary Art Museum in Baltimore, Md. The awards, chosen by a selection committee of regional industry leaders and early-stage investors, recognized the achievements of current and graduate companies within Maryland’s incubators.
Demian Costa, Managing Partner of Sagamore Ventures, addressed the crowd as the event’s keynote speaker and spoke of the importance of providing training in lost trades and emphasized the growth and innovation taking place in an around the Baltimore area, particularly revolving around the Port Covington project.
Winning companies were selected based on their goals and success in achieving their objectives. Judges considered factors such as technology or product development, intellectual property, increase in employee numbers, growth in revenue or earnings, engagement of significant customers and strategic partners, receipt of awards or grants, attraction of outside investors, innovation, self-sufficiency, impact on the region and usage of the incubator’s services. 
In addition to the Incubator Company of the Year awards, Robert C. Embry, Jr., President of the Abell Foundation, was awarded the Robert A. Spar Hall of Fame Award.  Under his guidance, Abell is an active supporter of Baltimore City’s innovation community through direct investments in exciting young start-up companies and in initiatives like Propel Baltimore, Harbor Designs, and AccelerateBaltimore.  Bob and the Abell Foundation represent a powerful aspirational example for ways in which other similar organizations can make a difference in the City. 
“The diversity of these winners demonstrates the breadth and depth of innovation that we have in Maryland,” said John Wasilisin, President and COO of TEDCO.  He continued, “From world class cybersecurity solutions, to innovative medicines that make a difference to health, to enabling manufacturing excellence, these inventions are improving business function and enhancing the quality of life for people throughout the world.”
Co-Chairs Jacque Brooks and Jay Reilly of Saul Ewing LLP congratulate all applicants, and are inspired by their passion and tenacity, stating:  “The level of talent and innovation that comes out of this state every year continues to amaze and impress us.  We are so proud to be a part of the Incubator Company of the Year Awards and salute the significant efforts of this year’s finalists.” 
The categories and winners are:
Best Cyber Company
Best Graduate Company
Best Health I.T. Company
Best Life Science Company
Best Service/Consulting Company
Best Software Company 
Best Technology Company
Best Unaffiliated Company
The selection committee this year includes Gianna Arnold, Saul Ewing LLP; Tom Arsenau, RSM US LLP; Donna Balinkie, Firedrive Marketing Group; Mary Brightman, Saul Ewing LLP; Jacque Brooks, Saul Ewing LLP; Ryan Chaffo, M&T Bank; Matthew Cohen, M&T Bank; Christopher College, TCP Venture Capital; Brian Corbett, TEDCO; Judy Costello, MD Department of Commerce; Neil Davis, TEDCO; Robb Doub, New Markets Venture Partners; Chris Fedak, M&T Bank; Yair Flicker, SmartLogic; Mollie Frank, RSM US LLP; Yali Friedman, Journal of Commercial Biotechnology; Kelvin Fu, A Level Capital; Rosel Halle, Strategic Direction Advisors; Kathryn Hickey, Saul Ewing LLP David Hurwitz, TriSun Financial Group, LLC; Konstantina Katcheves, Lonza; Julie Lenzer, University of Maryland, College Park; Jacob Licht; Brian Meritt, RSM US LLP; Andrew Michael, M&T Bank; Matthew Miessau, Epidarex Capital; Eric Orlinsky, Saul Ewing LLP; Andrew Parker, RSM US LLP; Anthony Raley, II, Silicon Valley Bank; Jay Reilly, Saul Ewing LLP; Sean Sabre, Nexterus; Michael Salgaller, NIH; Douglas Schmidt, Chessiecap Securities, Inc.; Jae Sly, Strategic BioPharm Consulting, Inc.; Nick Stewart, Saul Ewing LLP; Brittany Sullivan, RSM US LLP; Michael Tangrea, LifeBridge Health Research Institute - Sinai Hospital and Tien Wong, Lore Systems.